When you’re in a crash in Maryland, there are a few things you should know. For example, you need to understand the statute of limitations, so you know how long you have to file a claim for your injuries. You should also know if there are limits on the amount of money you can seek in a claim.
As of 2018, Maryland has a three-year personal injury and property damage time limit. If you are filing a claim against the local, state or federal government, then that time limit is shortened to just one year. Additionally, noneconomic damages are limited to $839,000 as of Oct. 1, 2016, but increase by $15,000 yearly to allow for inflation.
While the $839,000 (or slightly higher) limit seems low, remember that it is only for noneconomic damages. You can still claim for economic damages, which are damages that directly cost you financially or that are related to your injury. For example, hospital stays, surgeries and lost wages may be economic damages. Noneconomic damages are abstract. They could refer to your loss of enjoyment of life or mental anguish. There is no real limit on the amount you can seek for economic damages, but there could be an unspoken limit as a result of insurance providers’ coverage limits.
After a crash, it’s a good idea to collect receipts and information about the lost wages you’ve suffered. Additionally, keep information on any other economic damages you’ve faced. Noneconomic damages are limited, but they’re there as a way to compensate you for your suffering, not as a way to cover your actual financial losses.
Source: FindLaw, “Maryland Car Accident Compensation Laws,” accessed April 26, 2018